Eager?

Church this past Sunday was amazing, we’ve been in 1 Thessalonians for I think 4 or 5 weeks, and we wrapped up chapter 1. Alex is a pretty awesome expositor of the word, he’s kinda like a walking bible. James was here, he’s our music leader, and just moved down from Minneapolis. Its pretty exciting being part of a church plant, just a new slate and a heart for the gospel. We’re sending out a family soon to be on the mission field, and are trying to get a foot in the community, it rocks my world to see what God is doing in this little 20 some odd people church.

So in Alex’s exposition this part of the passage really stuck out, with my own ephasis added.

For not only has the word of the Lord sounded forth from you in Macedonia and Achaia, but your faith in God has gone forth everywhere, so that we need not say anything. For they themselves report concerning us the kind of reception we had among you, and how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead, Jesus who delivers us from the wrath to come.

1 Thessalonians 1:8-10

I found myself asking, do I wait eagerly for the return of Christ? I am eager to share my faith(not nearly enough), and I’m ever so thankful for the grace I’ve been shown that will save me from the wrath to come. But do I look forward to the return of Christ? Can I truly say in my heart, Maranatha? The preaching of the word can be quite convicting, and I find myself pondering this more and more, and with a hopeful change of heart and attitude that I might be more eager for the return of my Savior.

Leave a Reply

