Eschatological Spurgeon

I posted earlier about “the Last Days” and as I was reading Morning and Evening this morning Spurgeon wrote something I wish more people would understand. I was talking to someone last night who insisted the end is near, maybe it is. But I’ve got a larger concern, and Spurgeon points it out very well I do believe.

Be ye then confident, when ye hear of wars, and rumours of wars. Let no agitation distress you, but be quiet from fear of evil. Whatsoever cometh upon the earth, you, beneath the broad wings of Jehovah, shall be secure. Stay yourself upon his promise; rest in his faithfulness, and bid defiance to the blackest future, for there is nothing in it direful for you. Your sole concern should be to show forth to the world the blessedness of hearkening to the voice of wisdom.– C.H.S from Morning 7/6

Show the world the blessedness of listening to the voice of wisdom. Tell the world of the saving grace of Christ Jesus. I was talking to my youth pastor a couple years ago asking him about Covenant and Dispensational theology. He very humbly replied with some great words of wisdom. “I don’t know when Jesus is coming back, all I know is that He is and I’m to be about my Father’s business.”

The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.-Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

2 thoughts on “Eschatological Spurgeon

  1. Whether or not you are dispensational, pretrib, posttrib,premill, amill or panmill, the Eastern sky and the return of our King should be immenent enough in our minds as to stir an immediate and continual sense of urgency, for those who have not tasted of His saving grace. I have no sense of dread concerning His return for myself, and look forward to it. But how selfishly we forget that we are not the only ones who will be judged in that hour and day.

  2. Amen and Amen to the comment above. We have lost sight of the reality of judgment while maintaining a heightened sense of the end times. The return of Christ should spur us into a greater urgency for the spreading of the gospel. Praise God! P.S.-Thank you Allen and I wish we could write like Spurgeon :).

Leave a Reply

