Modern Day Samaria

Tonight following bible study my friend and I were coming down 401 toward Raleigh from Fuquay-Varina following bible study with some of the guys at GraceWay. I can rarely think of a time when we go I-440 to come back to Wake Forest on Wednesday nights. It is a strait shot from Fuquay to Wake Forest, and it takes about the same amount of time if you go 440 or 401. Jeff and I both thought about going I-440 tonight for some odd reason, but we didn’t. Then in jest we said I-440 was like going around Samaria. There is there is much truth in that jest for the church. I’m not pointing out any particular churches, because I know lots of churches are doing ministry in the Raleigh area, and all over for that matter. But the downtown are of Raleigh isn’t the most appealing once you get past the sky scrapers and college campuses. There is a group of people that if possible, most Christians avoid. I think often times its because of the same reasons the Jews in Jesus’ day avoided Samaria. Racism.

How many times do ‘Christians’ avoid a person, an area of town, or even a church because of race?

Why do we avoid situations to share the gospel like the plague?

Jesus did something a bit different:

Now when Jesus learned that the Pharisees had heard that Jesus was making and baptizing more disciples than John (although Jesus himself did not baptize, but only his disciples), he left Judea and departed again for Galilee. And he had to pass through Samaria. So he came to a town of Samaria called Sychar, near the field that Jacob had given to his son Joseph. Jacob’s well was there; so Jesus, wearied as he was from his journey, was sitting beside the well. It was about the sixth hour. A woman from Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.” (For his disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.) The Samaritan woman said to him, “How is it that you, a Jew, ask for a drink from me, a woman of Samaria?” (For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.)-John 4:1-9

Will the day come when no longer when the gospel is preached in word and deed that people ask, “Why are you doing this for me?” Will the message that there is no Jew nor Greek, that Jesus Christ is Lord the same Lord of all? or Do we use the I-440’s of life to avoid places that aren’t ‘comfortable’? Jesus went where the others wouldn’t. He revealed himself to the woman at the well and gave her eternal life. The bride of Christ is to be the hands and feet of the Savior on earth and I would dare say that He would visit the Samaria’s of today.

I’m quite excited about whats going on in Angier in the coming months. Where the church is hopefully going to be located could be right in the middle Samaria so to speak. May the light of the gospel shine and the only one who is worthy of worship gain glory.

Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”-John 4:13-14

Share the Well

3 thoughts on “Modern Day Samaria

  1. I’m excited about what is going to happen with the church in Angier as well. It is giving me a leadway into talking to people about Jesus and it certainly makes it easier to invite them to come join us because of the location. I know God has a plan for Graceway… it’s just hard waiting it out. 🙂 good post allen

  2. DarrenaI don’t think its a matter of waiting it out. I think we are right in the midst now. Though we aren’t huge, nor will we ever get huge. I’d encourage you to check out this link 9Marks its right where Alex’s vision is. We are actually a 9Marks church. God is sovereign and I believe he has opened a door for the proclamation of the gospel. He’s working acts of providence all the time, that we aren’t even aware of. We were featured a week ago in the Angier paper unknown to us.Soli Deo Gloria

  3. Our Samarias could even be the houses we drive by everyday, smugly going on our way to our own church. Seeing through the eyes of Jesus means we always keep rubbing our eyes, to get the junk out.

Leave a Reply

