Preaching Hebrews 11

Next Sunday I’ve been given the privilege of preaching at Kure Beach First Baptist Church. Pastor Joey has been preaching through the book of Hebrews and has asked that I continue in his series by preaching from chapter 11. I’ve been meditating on the chapter quite a bit since I talked to Pastor Joey about preaching it. Joey has been preaching through the book and its themes of Supremacy and I’ve been given the privilege of exhorting on the Supreme examples of faith through the Old Covenant saints. In preparation for my sermon I’ve gone back to John Piper’s Future Grace. The book has the hope of the coming message through future grace at its core, the theme of chapter 11. In my meditations I figured I would share a bit of what I’ve been reading. Piper titles this section of Future Grace “Faith in the future grace of the joy set before us.” I think this title could be a fitting chapter heading for Hebrews 11. Here is an excerpt:

…when Hebrews 11 describes the obedience of the Old Testament saints as happening “by faith”–that is, by “the assurance of things hoped for(v.1)– it is not out of mere historical interest. The point is that Christians today are to obey in the same way.

Amen, Amen Dr. Piper!

Oh what a joy it is to be able to prepare for this sermon, and to be able to preach it. What a joy it is to find assurance in the hope of the second coming of our Messiah. May we fix our eyes on the author and perfecter of our faith.

solideogloria, semper.

Leave a Reply

