"Follow me…."

“Follow me and I will make you fishers of men.”- Jesus

When Jesus called his first disciples they were fishermen, and he called them into the ministry of “fishing for people.” It is the life of an evangelist.

I am a recreational fisherman, it is one of my favorite things to do. I’ve been doing it as long as I’ve been able to hold a fishing rod. My family is full of people who love to fish, a lot of the guys I went to church with and I fished all the time. I’ve fished with anything from a safety pin in a pond for bream to an electric reel for grouper in 100+ feet of water. If it swims, I’ll fish for it, or set traps and try to catch it. This past summer was one of the best fishing seasons I have ever had, having fished a minimum of 5 days a week. I caught the biggest puppy drum, speckled trout, and fish over all this summer. Bottom line(kinda punny eh?) I love to fish.

What is really cool about my passion for fishing is that there are a lot of other people who share that passion. Wherever there is water for public fishing these people can be found. I love meeting this people and striking up a conversation with them. I’ve talked from kids in elementary school on up to people in their 80’s who have seen better fishing than I could ever dream about. What is wonderful about this common passion for fishing is that it makes it easy to strike up a conversation.

As I have this conversations with people you can learn a lot about people. Fishing beside people on the beach or at the lake often times can lead to hours of conversation between bites. It is a great way to have gospel centered conversations. All summer long I was able to share the gospel with people on the beach while fishing. I’ve been able to share with people at Greenfield Lake, my home lake in Wilmington. It never fails when I pray that God would allow me to have gospel centered conversations that they happen. Today when I was at the Wake Forest Reservoir I was able to talk with a young man named Sean, pray for him, and put God’s word in his hands. I was also able to catch a little bass. God is good!

I know that everyone in the world isn’t as passionate about fishing as I am. But we all have hobbies or sports that we enjoy. You aren’t the only one who enjoys doing these things. Go do the things you enjoy, talk to people, pray for gospel centered conversations, carry the gospel to as many as possible, and trust God for the results.

solideogloria

3 thoughts on “"Follow me…."

  1. Thanks for sharing bro. You really said it, praying that God would help you have those conversations. That is what it is like if we are intentional. By the way is that the LAke you took me to that day I was up there? Kinda seemed like we were in the mountains and only a few minutes from Raleigh.

  2. Keep spreading Jesus bro! You remind me of Jesus Allen, and you continue to do so. As JJ reminded me in a FB comment, that verse on the back of the big green bus was put to there to draw men to do what you’re doing, and also as a reminder to Jmac and Me of a certain student in our ministry that day when we decided on that verse, that you were impacting lives as a true fisher of men, and you still are, and that students and many others are following your example.

Leave a Reply

