An odd fortune cookie

I have always been one to joke around about fortune cookies. I always like to say they will be prophetic of my dating life. I have gotten 3 empty fortune cookies after saying that. I don’t really invest any kind of serious prophetic notions to fortune cookies, but I received one today that was a blog post waiting to happen.

How true?

My mind immediately went to John 6 when I read the cookie. That chapter is so slam packed with the sovereign grace of God concerning salvation. But this cookie took me to the following verses:

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out.John 6:35-37

Trying to find salvation in any thing other than Jesus Christ will leave you thirsty and hungry. Jesus promises life from his bread and water that is eternal. The promises he gives that all that the Father has given to him will come to him, and they will never be cast out. How precious it is that the Sovereign King has chosen us and given us bread and water to drink. The Holy Spirit drew us to salvation and the work of the Son through his blood shall keep us forever. Never again do we have to seek to find salvation on our own accord, and we do not have to work to try keep it with every breath we take. Christ has laid down his life for those the Father gave to him, those that will come to him, those whom he will raise up on the last day and never cast out. What a joy it is that we do not have to seek salvation from anywhere else, including a cookie.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life” – John 6:47

soli deo gloria

Leave a Reply

