A Steady Pattern

For those of you who don’t know my Dad has had another stroke, which has me at home instead of being in College. I am only 20 years old, but this has been the hardest week of my life. I’m doing my best to count this time as joyful, and the only way I can is to know I have hope. Hope that this time on this earth, including this period of my life is only temporary. I find much hope that I have an inheritance kept in heaven by my Savior, and one day when the strokes or whatever may come are to much for my Dad, he has that inheritance kept for him as well.

Right now, for some reason my copy of Morning and Evening was left in my truck from my moving from Wake Forest. I started to read this mornings devotion, probably the 2nd or 3rd time I’ve ever read it, and it was about suffering and trials in the life of David. Spurgeon made much of God in reflecting on David’s making much of God during suffering. He wrote of how comforting the Psalms of David are across the board for Christians during times of trials. I can certainly testify that I cannot count the times I’ve gone to the word of God in the Psalms and found much joy and comfort.

I just received an update from DesiringGod on Facebook with an article about suffering. I read the following quote in the article:

“My dear brother, we must not mind a little suffering for Christ’s sake. When I am getting through a hedge, if my head and shoulders are safely through, I can bear the pricking of my legs. Let us rejoice in the remembrance that our holy Head has surmounted all His suffering and triumphed over death. Let us follow Him patiently; we shall soon be partakers of His victory”

Right now I feel like my head is deep in the briers, but I know my Savior’s grace is sufficient and his mercies are new every morning. I know know no other hope and peace, nothing but the blood of Jesus.

soli deo gloria

I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be ashamed, but will full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. – Philippians 1:19-20

Leave a Reply

