Abiding Sweetness

How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! – Psalm 119:103

Today is right a month since my Dad was put in the hospital for a second major stroke. This past month has been the most challenging month of my short 20 years on this earth so far. But in the midst of all these trials, I really can say it has been a joyful month. James wrote, “consider it all joy my brothers when you encounter trials of various kinds, for we know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.” (James 1:2-3) I’m not sure how I would get through this time with my sanity if it weren’t for knowing Christ.

I’ve been able to take joy in the fact that as a Christian I’ve been called an “elect exile” and that this isn’t my home, rather I have an “inheritance kept in heaven, that is imperishable, undefined, and unfading.”

I go to bed praying and wake up reminded of the promise of God, that “The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning and great is his faithfulness.” and because of that “the LORD is my portion, therefore I will put my hope in him.” By putting my hope in him, I have a reason to give a defense for the times people ask about the hope that I have in me. (1 Peter 3:15)

I’ve been reminded time and time again that “God works all things together for the good of those who are called according to his purpose.” I stand firm on the fact that he has a calling, and a plan. It is one that is a perfect will that cannot be thwarted. “Though the grass withers and the flowers fade, the word of the LORD stands forever.” so I can treasure the fact that God says, “My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are my ways your ways, the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Praise be to God that he is control of everything going on, not I. Because I cannot escape the words of my Savior from the Sermon on the Mount, “Do not lay up for yourselves on earth treasures, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourself treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, so will your heart be also.”

I love my father ever so much, I don’t know how I can express the love for my parents with words on here right now, especially in the midst of this trial. But Christ has supremacy over my parents, if my hope was solely in them, my hope would be crushed. The stroke has taken away a lot of the man I know to be my father and has replaced him with a man who does and says things my Daddy never did or said. But my hope is in Christ, that this is not my home. My hope is that Jesus reigns supreme over all the nerves and vessels of my Daddy’s body and one day when we get to a city build by God, those things will be as they were created to be from the beginning. That is hope!

I’ve quoted quite a bit of scripture in this post, all of it from memory. One of the most comforting things during this past month have been the scriptures that keep coming to the forefront of my mind in the midst of trial. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve been reminded of Lamentations 3. I never know what time I’m going to be woken up, or for what reason come morning time. But I know that no matter what happens, God’s mercies are new every morning and great is his faithfulness.

Beloved, I cannot encourage you enough to take the time to memorize scripture. It is priceless and ever so sweet to have the words of the Lord kept in your heart.

I close this post with two things, some words of our Saviour, and a sermon on those words.

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done to you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.” – John 15:7-8

http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/Sermons/ByDate/2009/3483_If_My_Words_Abide_in_You/

How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! – Psalm 119:103

soli deo gloria

2 thoughts on “Abiding Sweetness

Leave a Reply

