What if?

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God. – 1 Corinthians 2:1-5

What if? What if more of us in the church were like Paul in our desires? I think its pretty safe to say from my reading of the New Testament that the Apostle Paul’s greatest desire was the gospel of Christ with its proclamations and implications.

I’ve thought a bit about desires this morning because I have seen a trend on Facebook this morning. I see a lot of people who can be grouped in to one of two categories. Those who are extremely excited about Twilight and those who are tired of hearing about it. I’ve seen people counting down the days till the movie premiered and they stayed awake and waited in lines to see the premiere. They were excited to say the least.

I’m not writing to pick on Twilight or the people who have been ever so excited about it coming out. Nor the people who are tired of hearing about it. People have done the same thing for Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, the list goes on. But it isn’t just movies. There are guys who live for the opening day of deer season. People plan using their entire vacation days from work around the run of a small bony fish that migrates south past our coast every fall, the noble Spot. For some Sunday morning at church becomes nothing more than a pre-game session to sit in the pew and think about the football game and what to pick up on the way home.

What if our greatest desire became the one who created us to enjoy him? What if we thought more of God than we did ourselves? Isn’t that the call of the Christian life? Did not Christ say if any man wish to follow after me he must deny himself, pick up his cross and follow? Did not the Apostle say that it was no longer he that lived, but Christ? Might we get excited with David and see the law of the Lord as the delight of our soul? Might we desire God? What if we could say eagerly with the Apostle, Maranatha, Lord come quickly?

We must ask ourselves, where are my desires?

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. – Psalm 37:4

Leave a Reply

