Making more of Sunday morning

Many of us go to church on Sunday morning and do just that, go. We go, sing, shake hands, sit, try to pay attention, shake more hands, get in the car, argue about what to do for lunch, and then comes Monday. This is the story of a lot of us who go to church, but Sunday morning should be so much more.

Going to church is an act of worship. It is a time for true fellowship with the Triune God and with brothers and sisters. It is a time where you not only worship when you sing, but when you sit under the preaching of God’s word. What I would love to see is for people to get more out of their Sunday morning. I think in its ultimate end will glorify God.

A few things to do so.

1) Pray. – Pray for your pastor as he prepares his sermon. Pray for your Sunday school teacher/small group leaders as they prepare their lessons. Pray for your church that God will use her for his glory. Pray for yourself that God would give you receptive ears to hear from his word.

2) Carry your bible to church. – The core of orthodox Christianity is God’s revelation to us, his word. The guy in the pulpit should be preaching from this book. Not using it to proof-text his own ideas, but revealing to his people what the bible says, because what the bible says is what God is saying. (If you aren’t getting this at church, I would advise finding another church that does.)

3) Open your bible – Don’t just carry your bible to look pious. It does you know good if its shut. Yes I know your church probably has the scripture on the screen(s) in front of you. Open it any way and read it. It’ll keep you involved with the sermon and perhaps keep the message in your mind longer than the salad bar at Ruby Tuesday.

4) Get a notebook – Take notes during the sermon in a good notebook. Even if you are given little bulletin inserts I would advise taking your own notes. If that means copying the fill in the blanks from the insert to your notebook. I know I’m really prone to loose sheets of paper. But if I lost my Moleskine notebook I would cry. I’m working on filling my second notebook up now since I started doing this my first semester in college. Not only can I go back and look at sermons I’ve heard in the past, but it has made me a better listener. These notebooks are priceless when you fill them.

5) Discuss the sermon over lunch – Take time with your family and friends over lunch to discuss the sermon. It is biblical, have your conversations seasoned with salt.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me–practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. – Philippians 4:8-9

See, its biblical.

6) Pray through out the week about what you heard on Sunday morning. – Take the time to meditate on what you heard, it’ll stick with you. It’ll make you more like Jesus if you’re hearing the bible on Sunday mornings. You can also continue to study through the text(s) of scripture you heard on Sunday morning.

7) Listen to this sermon by a Scottish dude named Alistar Begg- It is what inspired me to post this. I think it’ll help you understand the significance of what is going on behind the pulpit and in the pews on Sunday morning.

http://www.truthforlife.org/broadcasts/2009/11/13/the-first-christian-sermon-part-one-a/

Leave a Reply

