Dirty Snow

I cannot help but think of Psalm 51:7 every time it snows, and the last big snow we had in Wake Forest I blogged about the verse.

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. – Psalm 51:7

I began to think about this verse two weekends ago when we had heavier snow fall that we had last night and today. Particularly about the phrase “whiter than snow”.


The picture above is one of a pile of dirty snow.

At one point it was really nice white fluffy snow. But then it was sleeted upon. Then it was scraped up into a pile across a dirty side walk. Then it started to melt. It is dirty snow. But don’t forget at one point it was really white, really fluffy, really clean, really pretty snow. Now that pile of snow is gone. The snow that fell today is mostly gone.

Why “whiter than snow?” I think it is because snow gets dirty, melts, and gets pushed into piles. You see all the self-righteousness we try to bring before God to make ourselves right before him, no matter how clean it seems is as the dirtiest minstrel rags. We need something whiter than snow to stand before God as holy. We need the righteousness of Christ because it can never be tainted, it cannot evaporate away, it cannot be pushed aside.

The gospel is a beautiful thing.

The gospel is that in the very beginning was God and he created all things through his son, and they were perfect and made for his glory. Then sin entered the world through our Father Adam. God promises redemption. He sends at the right time his son Jesus to die for the ungodly. Jesus is buried and three days later is raised to life defeating sin and death. He makes it so that through faith in him and repentance of heart one can have the greatest gift in the universe, God himself. His shedding of blood bears the awful weight of our sin and guilt before a holy judge, absorbs his wrath and forgives our trespasses. That which is crimson and poured out makes us so that we stand whiter than snow before God. This is beautiful way more beautiful than even the prettiest snowfalls that quickly melt, as its beauty is eternal.

Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice. Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you. Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness. O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise. – Psalm 51:8-17

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places. Even as he chose us in Him before the foundations of the world that we should be holy and blameless before him, in love he predestined us for adoption through Jesus Christ to the purpose of his will and the praise of his glorious grace in which he has blessed us in the Beloved. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses according to the riches of his grace which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight, making known to us the mystery of his will according to his purpose, which he set forth in Christ, as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth. – Ephesians 1:3-10

Beautiful.

One thought on “Dirty Snow

  1. so, this has potential to be an awkward comment, but you spelled "menstrual" wrong. you said minstrel. which made me think of the word ministerial. which is definitely different than menstrual. A minstrel was a "medieval European bard who performed songs whose lyrics told stories about distant places or about real or imaginary historical events," which is different than menstrual and ministerial.i do realize you have probably not had much experience with menstrual, or minstrels, or ever had to write either of those words. however, someone who has may come along, and be all confused.yes, i'm going to be your book editor.

Leave a Reply

