A Friend Who Sticks Closer than a Brother

 A man of many companions may come to ruin,
but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. – Proverbs 18:24

My ever so wise girlfriend posted a tweet yesterday that said, “Friendship is not about supporting a person no matter what-it’s about pointing them to Christ.”

I’m really thankful for the close friends I have in my life. God has blessed me to put people around me who love me enough to say, “hey stupid, that doesn’t honor Jesus.” I had a friend this morning that posted this link to my Facebook wall this morning: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/rayortlund/2011/02/02/when-we-feel-like-complaining/. You don’t usually post something like that on someone’s wall unless you’re pretty close. It’s good to have friends that’ll send you stuff to help you fight your flesh. Its good to have the kind of friendship with someone that they can give you a book titled, “the Mortification of Sin” or “Precious Remedies Against Satan’s Devices.”

I just got off the phone with a real close friend who it never fails when we see one another or talk on the phone we’re able to talk about what God is doing in our lives. He’ll always ask me what I’m reading in the Scriptures and how God is teaching me through them. We’ll talk about the other books we’re reading and how they’re helping us grown. There’s also always a time for confession. James writes, “confess your sins to one another and pray for one another.” This isn’t something we’re comfortable with. Our nature causes us to keep our sin to ourselves and do our best to cover it up or ignore it. But praise the Lord through the fellowship we have with him and because of him the fellowship we have with the Brethren.

I suppose this isn’t much more than a rambling, but I’m thankful for who God has placed my life. I pray that more of us would live in rich fellowship with one another as we have fellowship with the Most High God. Its good for your walk with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

