Staring at the Sun and New Testament Criticism

I’m not a New Testament Scholar in any shape form or fashion. I had a great professor in school. I read my Bible and a lot of guys smarter than me that love Christ and His Word. I learn a lot from them. One of the guys I enjoy reading is the late Southern Professor A.T. Robertson. I was blessed with several of his books when I worked in the library at Southeastern. This evening I needed to make room on my bookshelf for some commentaries I had bought over the past few weeks and I decided to pull down a Robertson book and do a little reading. I know a little bit about New Testament High Criticism but not enough to have a good conversation. I really wanted to share some of my reading of Robertson with the world. Because what you believe about Jesus is of uttermost importance.

Robertson wrote:

There has been a curious swinging of the pendulum among certain theologians through the ages concerning the person of Christ. The Ebionites denied the deity of Jesus. The Docetic Gnostics rejected His humanity. Paul recognized both as true of Christ Jesus. He is to Paul the God-man. Is this reality or merely Paul’s interpretation? Paul did not originate this interpretation. The other apostles had so understood Jesus. Hear Peter on the Day of Pentecost: “Let all the house of Israel know assuredly that God hath made Him both Lord and Christ, this Jesus whom ye crucified.” If one begin with the earlies known sources of the life of Christ according to modern criticism, either Q (the Logia of Matthew) or Mark’s Gospel, he will find Jesus Christ the Lord of glory there. The Christ of the Synoptic Gospels, of Paul, of John, of Hebrews, of Peter, of James, of the Apocalypse is one and the same,; Jesus Christ the same yesterday today and forever. The various writers of the New Testament approach the study of Jesus from different angles, but each comes to the same point in fact. It is a lame conclusion to which Schmiedel comes in his “Quest for the Historical Jesus.” After long rambles through the mazes of conflicting critical theories he says; “He comes to us as One unknown, without a name, as of old, by the lake-side, He came to those men who knew him not.” None are so blind as those who will not see. Men come to Christ today, as of old, with their prejudices and their philosophy and cannot see His glory because of the fog around their own heads. The sun shines brightly for all who get out of the fog. The very greatness of Christ makes critical interpretation difficult and in a sense impossible. It is hard to look straight at the sun. But the sun shines on regardless of the changing theories about light and the spots in the sun.

Let us look to the Christ of the Scriptures as he is revealed in the Scriptures.

2 thoughts on “Staring at the Sun and New Testament Criticism

  1. Man…That is good stuff right there. I’ve not read any of A.T. Robertson’s stuff. Sounds like something I should make some time for. Since I don’t have much else to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

