The Power is His

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. – 2 Corinthians 4:7

We all have verses of Scripture that are our ‘favorites.’ Those words of Paul are one of mine. He’s talking about the treasure of the gospel of the glory of God which is manifest in Christ Jesus. God chooses to work through finite human beings for his glory and to demonstrate his power. The gospel isn’t my creation, nor would it ever be. I’d be too busy wallowing in my own righteousness. (Which isn’t very righteous in case you were wondering. God has spoken quite a bit in the Scriptures to self-made righteousness.) The power of the Gospel belongs to God.

Praise the Lord! I am ever so in awe of the grace of this verse this early AM. I preached this past evening to the youth group I used to be apart of. I’ve never felt so unworthy and under such weight of my own text. Its terribly difficult to preach. “Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?”  To preach the closing words of the Sermon on the Mount and implore anyone to love their enemies and build their foundation upon the solid words of Christ when I’ve spent the evening with vexation in my heart towards another Brother in the Lord. I confessed and continue to confess my own hypocrisy as one in need of grace and to be gracious. The conviction of the word brings comfort oddly enough as we discussed last night at Bible Study. I pray that the Lord used what was said by me tonight. Not that any boast can be made in what I said, but that the power of the gospel belongs to God, not weak earthen vessels like myself.

Leave a Reply

