Reading the Whole Counsel

As many of my friends know, I love the Old Testament. I hope you do too! I feel as though it is often overlooked by Christians abroad. Perhaps because it is in the OLD Testament and we are in a NEW Testament age. Some may think that perhaps the idea of being in a dispensation of grace dissolves our need for the Law and the writings of the Old Covenant. But all Scripture is God-breathed and useful for teaching, correction, reproof, and training in righteousness that the man of God might be equipped for every good work. I’m doing some reading right now for class and I came across a question I cannot help but share:

If my spiritual life depended on my knowledge of Deuteronomy, how would I make out?

Certainly our spiritual life doesn’t hinge upon our knowledge of Deuteronomy alone, but it does present to us a challenge to engage all of God’s revelation for our lives. We’d be wise to read the whole counsel of God and study it with passion and diligence that we might be corrected when need be, edified as God sees fit, and prepared for all the good works that he has already prepared for us. Let us read, study, and worship!

One thought on “Reading the Whole Counsel

  1. Thank you for this post. God put me on the journey of reading through the Bible earlier this year. I have to tell you, I have never realized how awesome the Old Testament is! There are themes that keep coming up that amaze me (like justice and mercy). The more I read the more I realize that the WHOLE BIBLE is about Jesus. Even in the prophets speaking about judgement (where I am now), I keep being reminded that Jesus took our punishment and God’s wrath on the cross. It is awesome. I can’t wait to finish so I can start over again.

    I agree with you, every Christian should make reading the whole Bible apart of their walk with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

