You Cannot Out Grow Your Need For the Gospel

In light of what I heard today that you are saved by the gospel, then you move beyond it to the rest of the New Testament I cannot help but share the following words from John Piper. They resonate in my ears and in my heart as I hear the work of the gospel is just for my regeneration. They speak the truth that the Lord is always working in my life for my good and for His glory.

What’s the Gospel? What’s the gospel? I’ll put it in a sentence. The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. That’s the gospel. You Can’t Outgrow the Gospel You never, never, never outgrow your need for it. Don’t ever think of the gospel as, “That’s the way you get saved, and then you get strong by leaving it and doing something else.” No! We are strengthened by God through the gospel every day, till the day we drop. You never outgrow the need to preach to yourself the gospel. 

– John Piper (via @ http://www.desiringgod.org/resource-library/articles/the-gospel-in-6-minutes)

Leave a Reply

