Thoughts and Prayer About the SBC Name Change

If you’ve not read about the proposed Southern Baptist Convention name change, you should and can read it here.

I hope its not just asceticism in the name change. I hope we believe that Jesus has all authority on heaven and earth. I pray we believe that in the power of the Spirit we can go. God knows we need to learn what it means not just to fill the roll, but to truly get down in the dirty and make disciples. I pray ‘Southern’ stipulation that still often haunts us to the present day won’t keep us from truly trying to make disciples of every tribe, tongue, and nation. I pray that we learn Baptism isn’t just something we do that makes us ‘Baptist’, rather, it is my prayer we’d be so saturated and entranced with the gospel of Jesus that Baptism displays. I pray we never lose track of Trinitarian Orthodoxy that we almost lost and almost destroyed our convention in the past. I pray we teach, and teach like we’ve never taught before in a world where truth has never been more questioned. I pray that as we teach, we teach obedience. I pray the obedience we teach is for the glory of God, not adding to the Word of God where God has not spoken or obedience for the sake of self-righteousness. I pray we aren’t fearful of anything in the Scriptures and that we would truly teach ‘all’ that Christ has commanded of us. I ever so deeply pray that we would learn that Christ is with us always, always, always until he shall call us into his kingdom to dwell with Him forever.

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” -Matthew 28:18-20 ESV

 

One thought on “Thoughts and Prayer About the SBC Name Change

Leave a Reply

