January Reads

On the first of the year my friend Chris posted on his blog all the books he had finished reading in the year 2012. When I read his post it left me thinking that Chris finished a lot more books that I had finished, and that I should take the time to finish more books. I started a lot of books in 2012 and the years before that but I find that I don’t always finish them. I’ll come back to them later just like I’m doing right now with a book I started in the fall of 2012.

In the month of January I started several books and finished a few. Those I started and haven’t finished I’ll share later (hopefully at the end of February).

In January I completed:

Growing Gills: A Fly Fisherman’s Journey by David Joy. You can purchase it here.

This was a great Christmas present for a fly fisherman. Joy’s memoir from growing up as a kid fishing to his adulthood carried me back to the ponds I had fished as a kid. Being six hours away from the nearest trout fishery my desire to get back to mountains with a fly rod in hand seemed to grow with every chapter I finished. If you enjoy fishing, you’d enjoy this read. Though I wish for Joy his worldview wasn’t naturalistic, he might enjoy the beauty of a native Brookie a little bit more if he saw the hand at work that painted its colors.

Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Tying: 101 Tips for the Absolute Beginner by David Klausmeyer. You can purchase it here.

My wife gave me a fly tying kit for Christmas, and I needed help learning to tie. This book has been great. Learning to tie flies is ever so enjoyable and when I finally catch a fish on one I’ve tied I’m sure it will be rewarding. From the basic to the more complex this book is great and has lots of helpful photographs. It is a worth while investment.

Everyday Church: Gospel Communities On Mission. By Tim Chester and Steve Timmis. You can purchase it here.

Implementing the biblical truths about what it means to be the church is the challenge set before me. Chester and Timmis walk through what it means to be God’s people on God’s mission while living in real community. Throughout the entirety of the book they use 1 Peter and its instruction on how to live as Christians when Christianity and the Christian worldview is on the margins of society. Many might disagree and think that the church still has a central role in the culture today, but the truth is culture is secular and the influence of the church is indeed on the margins. But, that does not mean that the church is not still on mission. I cannot commend this book enough to you for your reading and for your putting to practice what Chester and Timmis are proposing.

 

Leave a Reply

