The Task of the Preacher

The following words from the good Doctor Lloyd-Jones are gospel truth. Preachers, this is your task. Hearers of the word, this is the task of your preacher.

My task is to tell you that the answer to all your questions is in this one book, the Bible. If I am a herald, (and, thank God, unworthy though I am, that is what I am) I am not here to tell you my theories and my ideas about life, for they are no better than yours. No, I have been given a message from the Imperial Palace and here it is. And I am here to tell you with authority, with the authority of God, that all your questions have already been answered and all your problems have already been solved. You have but to listen to this preaching, this proclamation, and you will find peace and rest for your soul. And if you should be asked to pass from time to eternity today, you will know where you are going; you will not be alone; you will be able to say with the Apostle Paul, “I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.” (2 Tim 1:12). Thank God for preaching—proclamation, authoritative pronouncement! –

D. Martyn Lloyd- Jones, from
The Kingdom of God.

Leave a Reply

